

Report by Dispute Resolution Counsellor

January to December 2017

3 May 2018

This report is prepared for the Energy Market Company Pte Ltd and the Energy Market Authority.

Table of Contents

INTRODUCTION	3	
DISPUTE RESOLUTION INSTITUTIONS		
MARKET ASSESSMENT UNIT		
DISPUTE RESOLUTION PROCESS		
Dispute Resolution Stages		
DMS and DMS Contacts		
DISPUTE RESOLUTION WORKSHOP		
DISPUTES		
CONCLUSION		
CUNGI USIUN	r	4

INTRODUCTION

This is a report by the Dispute Resolution Counsellor ("DRC") on dispute resolution in relation to the wholesale electricity markets of the National Electricity Market of Singapore ("NEMS") from 1 January to 31 December 2017.

DISPUTE RESOLUTION INSTITUTIONS

The dispute resolution institutions of the wholesale electricity markets of the NEMS comprise the DRC and the Dispute Resolution and Compensation Panel ("DRCP"). The DRCP is made up of a Mediation Panel and an Arbitration Panel.

The DRCP members are:

Mediation Panel

- 1. Chandra Mohan
- 2. Chow Kok Fong
- 3. Daniel John
- 4. Danny McFadden
- 5. Engelin Teh, Senior Counsel
- 6. Geoff Sharp
- 7. Associate Professor Joel Lee
- 8. Associate Professor Lim Lei Theng
- 9. Lim Tat
- 10. Professor Nadja Alexander
- 11. Dr Peter Adler
- 12. Robert Yu
- 13. Shirli Kirschner

Arbitration Panel

- 1. Ang Cheng Hock, Senior Counsel
- Ben Giaretta
- 3. Chelva Rajah, Senior Counsel
- 4. Giam Chin Toon, Senior Counsel
- 5. Gregory Thorpe
- 6. Harry Elias, Senior Counsel
- 7. Kenneth Tan, Senior Counsel
- 8. Professor Lawrence Boo
- 9. N Sreenivasan, Senior Counsel
- 10. Naresh Mahtani
- 11. Philip Jeyaretnam, Senior Counsel
- 12. Phillip Harris
- 13. Raymond Chan
- 14. Dr Robert Gaitskell, Queen's Counsel
- 15. Tan Chee Meng, Senior Counsel
- 16. Professor Tan Cheng Han, Senior Counsel

Page 3 of 6

MARKET ASSESSMENT UNIT

The Market Assessment Unit of Energy Market Company Pte Ltd supports the dispute resolution process for the wholesale electricity markets of the NEMS and assists the DRC and DRCP in discharging their functions.

DISPUTE RESOLUTION PROCESS

Dispute Resolution Stages

The NEMS has a comprehensive approach to dispute resolution which enables disputes to be resolved outside of the courts. It involves the following stages:

- Negotiation The parties attempt to resolve the dispute in good faith using their dispute management systems. This stage is initiated by a party to a dispute serving a notice of dispute on the other parties and giving a copy to the DRC.
- Mediation If the dispute is not resolved by the parties themselves, it may be submitted for mediation. The mediation is conducted by a mediator selected from the Mediation Panel. This stage is initiated by a party serving a notice of mediation on the DRC.
- **Arbitration** If the dispute is not resolved by the parties through mediation, it may be submitted for arbitration. The arbitration is conducted by an arbitrator(s) selected from the Arbitration Panel. This stage is initiated by a party filing a notice of arbitration with the DRC.

DMS and DMS Contacts

The dispute resolution rules require each market player to implement a dispute management system ("DMS"). The DMS has to nominate a main DMS contact and an alternate DMS contact to be the first point of contact for the notification of disputes. The DMS has also to be consistent with the guidance notes of the DRC.

The current DMS contacts are:

- 1. Best Electricity Supply Terence Neo
- 2. CGNPC Solar-Biofuel Power (Singapore) Mike Ong
- 3. Charis Electric Kenneth Lee
- 4. CleanTech Solar Singapore Assets– Andre Nobre
- 5. Diamond Energy Merchants Muhammad Asya'ari
- 6. Energy Market Company Tan Yi Lin
- 7. Energy Supply Solutions Jace Lee
- 8. Environmental Solutions (Asia) Sivakumar Avadiar
- 9. ExxonMobil Asia Pacific Lim Li Fang
- 10. ExxonMobil Asia Pacific Priska
- 11. GlaxoSmithKline Biologicals Chew Siou Ping
- 12. GlaxoSmithKline Biologicals Wong Joon Jee
- 13. GreenSync Holdings Cash van Halder
- 14. Green Power Asia Daniel Ma
- 15. Hyflux Energy Cindy Lim
- 16. Hyflux Energy Ooi Chel-Lin

- 17. I Switch Senthil Kumar
- 18. Just Electric Wittman Wah
- 19. Keppel Electric Joelyn Wong
- 20. Keppel Electric Nicholas Tan
- 21. Keppel Merlimau Cogen Sean Chan
- 22. Keppel Merlimau Cogen Tini Mulyawati
- 23. LYS Genco Beta Jonathan Chong
- 24. Nanyang Technological University Muhammed Isa Lee Teck Kwang
- 25. National Environment Agency Siew Weng Soon
- 26. National Environment Agency Teresa Tan
- 27. Ohm Energy- Nerine Teo
- 28. PacificLight Energy Teo Chin Hau
- 29. PacificLight Power Linda Wen
- 30. Pfizer Asia Pacific Lee Chin Hoo
- 31. Pfizer Asia Pacific Tan Meng Tong
- 32. Power System Operator Loh Poh Soon
- 33. Power System Operator Oh Chai Choo
- 34. Red Dot Power Vijay Sirse
- 35. Sembcorp Cogen Agnes Low
- 36. Sembcorp Cogen Ang Geok Chuan
- 37. Sembcorp Power Jenny Lye
- 38. Sembcorp Power Valerie Lee
- 39. Sembcorp Solar Fendy Nursalim
- 40. Senoko Energy Supply Eu Pui Sun
- 41. Senoko Energy Supply Michelle Lim
- 42. Senoko Waste-to-Energy Francis Ng
- 43. Senoko Waste-to-Energy Lee Song Koi
- 44. Seraya Energy Daniel Lee
- 45. Seraya Energy Elaine Syn
- 46. Shell Eastern Petroleum Grace Chiam
- 47. Shell Eastern Petroleum Pak-Juan Koe
- 48. SilverCloud Energy Lee Hock Lim
- 49. Singapore District Cooling Dennis Chong
- 50. Singapore District Cooling Liu Yue
- 51. Singapore LNG Corporation Lam Zheng Xin
- 52. Singapore LNG Corporation Vincent Lam
- 53. Singapore Refining Company Ho Weng Foo
- 54. Singapore Refining Company Balasubramaniam Sundararaj Mohanakkannan
- 57. SmartCity Energy Teo Kok Meng
- 58. SP PowerAssets Chan Hung Kwan
- 59. SP PowerAssets Ong Sheau Chin
- 60. SP Services Hilda Toh
- 61. SP Services Ho Yin Shan
- 62. Sun Electric Energy Assets Eugene Lim
- 63. Sun Electric Energy Assets Matthew Peloso
- 64. Sunseap Energy Lawrence Kwan
- 65. Sunseap Leasing Jonathan Tai
- 66. Sunseap Leasing Shawn Tan
- 66. Sunseap Leasing Beta Shawn Tan
- 67. Tuas DBOO Trust Victor Fong
- 68. Tuas DBOO Trust Wilfred Tan
- 69. Tuas Power Generation Priscilla Chua
- 70. Tuas Power Supply Jazz Feng
- 71. Tuas Power Supply Zhang Ai Jia

Page 5 of 6

- 72. Tuaspring Calvin Quek
- 73. Tuaspring Chin Shi En
- 74. Union Power Ellen Teo
- 75. Union Power Eric Lim
- 76. YTL PowerSeraya Jonathan Chew
- 77. YTL PowerSeraya Ong Yi Zha

The contact particulars of the DMS contacts are published on the EMC website. This information will enable market participants to know who to contact in the event of a dispute.

DISPUTE RESOLUTION WORKSHOP

As part of my responsibilities, I provide training in dispute resolution for the DMS contacts.

On 20 June 2017, Professor Nadja Alexander, a mediator on the DRCP, and I conducted a half-day workshop on negotiation for the DMS contacts. The workshop was organised and supported by EMC's Market Assessment Unit.

DISPUTES

During the period 1 January to 31 December 2017, I did not receive any notice of dispute from market participants.

CONCLUSION

I would like to thank all market participants, DMS contacts and the Market Assessment Unit for supporting the work of the DRC. I look forward to working towards further improving the dispute resolution process of NEMS.

George Lim, Senior Counsel Dispute Resolution Counsellor

Crongelin