

Report by Dispute Resolution Counsellor

January 2014 to December 2014

31 March 2015

This report is prepared for the Energy Market Company Pte Ltd and the Energy Market Authority.

Table of Contents

INTRODUCTION	
DISPUTE RESOLUTION INSTITUTIONS	3
MARKET ASSESSMENT UNIT	3
DISPUTE RESOLUTION PROCESS	4
Dispute Resolution Stages	4
DMS and DMS Contacts	4
DISPUTES	5
CONCLUSION	5

INTRODUCTION

This is a report by the Dispute Resolution Counsellor ("DRC") on dispute resolution in relation to the wholesale electricity markets of the National Electricity Market of Singapore ("NEMS") from 1 January 2014 to 31 December 2014.

DISPUTE RESOLUTION INSTITUTIONS

The dispute resolution institutions of the wholesale electricity markets of the NEMS comprise the DRC and the Dispute Resolution and Compensation Panel ("DRCP"). The DRCP is made up of a Mediation Panel and an Arbitration Panel.

The DRCP members are:-

Mediation Panel

- 1. Chandra Mohan
- 2. Daniel John
- 3. Danny McFadden
- 4. Geoff Sharp
- 5. Associate Professor Joel Lee
- 6. Associate Professor Lim Lei Theng
- 7. Dr Peter Adler
- Robert Yu
- 9. Shirli Kirschner

Arbitration Panel

- 1. Ang Cheng Hock, Senior Counsel
- 2. Chelva Rajah, Senior Counsel
- 3. Giam Chin Toon, Senior Counsel
- 4. Gregory Thorpe
- 5. Harry Elias, Senior Counsel
- 6. Kenneth Tan, Senior Counsel
- 7. Professor Lawrence Boo
- 8. N Sreenivasan, Senior Counsel
- 9. Naresh Mahtani
- 10. Philip Jeyaretnam, Senior Counsel
- 11. Phillip Harris
- 12. Raymond Chan
- 13. Dr Robert Gaitskell, Queen's Counsel
- 14. Tan Chee Meng, Senior Counsel
- 15. Professor Tan Cheng Han, Senior Counsel

MARKET ASSESSMENT UNIT

The Market Assessment Unit of Energy Market Company Pte Ltd supports the dispute resolution process for the wholesale electricity markets of the NEMS and assists the DRC and DRCP in discharging their functions.

Page 3 of 5

DISPUTE RESOLUTION PROCESS

Dispute Resolution Stages

The NEMS has a comprehensive approach to dispute resolution which enables disputes to be resolved outside of the courts. It involves the following stages:

- Negotiation The parties attempt to resolve the dispute in good faith using their dispute management systems. This stage is initiated by a party to a dispute serving a notice of dispute on the other parties and giving a copy to the DRC.
- Mediation If the dispute is not resolved by the parties themselves, it may be submitted for mediation. The mediation is conducted by a mediator selected from the Mediation Panel. This stage is initiated by a party serving a notice of mediation on the DRC.
- **Arbitration** If the dispute is not resolved by the parties through mediation, it may be submitted for arbitration. The arbitration is conducted by an arbitrator(s) selected from the Arbitration Panel. This stage is initiated by a party filing a notice of arbitration with the DRC.

DMS and DMS Contacts

The dispute resolution rules require each market player to implement a dispute management system ("DMS"). The DMS has to nominate a main DMS contact and an alternate DMS contact to be the first point of contact for the notification of disputes. The DMS has also to be consistent with the guidance notes of the DRC.

The current DMS contacts are:-

- 1. Air Products Tang Siew Wai
- 2. Air Products Shawn Zhang
- 3. CGNPC Solar-Biofuel Zhang Hua
- 4. CGNPC Solar-Biofuel Nelson Ong
- 5. Diamond Energy Muhammed Igbal
- 6. ECO Special Waste Management Ethiraj Thirumalai
- 7. ECO Special Waste Management Vincent Tang
- 8. Energy Market Company Ambrose Chia
- 9. Energy Market Company Tan Phaik Kim
- 10. ExxonMobil Elaine Lee
- 11. ExxonMobil Teddy Yong
- 12. GlaxoSmithKline Chew Siou Ping
- 13. GlaxoSmithKline Wong Joon Jee
- 14. Green Power Asia Daniel Ma
- 15. Hyflux Chin Si En
- 16. Hyflux Calvin Quek
- 17. Keppel Infrastructure Janice Bong
- 18. Keppel Infrastructure Joelyn Wong
- 19. Keppel Merlimau Cogen Sean Chan
- 20. Keppel Merlimau Cogen Tini Mulyawati
- 21. National Environment Agency Siew Weng Soon
- 22. National Environment Agency Teresa Tan

- 23. PacificLight Power Calvin Tan
- 24. PacificLight Power Linda Wen
- 25. Pfizer Lee Chin Hoo
- 26. Pfizer Tan Meng Tong
- 27. Power System Operator Loh Poh Soon
- 28. Power System Operator Agnes Tan
- 29. Sembcorp Cogen Ramesh Tiwari
- 30. Sembcorp Cogen Loh Chin Seng
- 31. Sembcorp Cogen Chua Gwen Heng
- 32. Sembcorp Power H C Chew
- 33. Senoko Energy Eveline How
- 34. Senoko Energy Loo Hui Hua
- 35. Senoko Energy Supply Eu Pui Sun
- 36. Senoko Energy Supply Michelle Lim
- 37. Seraya Energy Daniel Lee
- 38. Seraya Energy Elaine Syn
- 39. Singapore LNG Corp Vincent Lam
- 40. Singapore LNG Corp Lam Zheng Xin
- 41. Singapore Oxygen Air Liquide Lim Yong Yi
- 42. SP Power Assets Chan Hung Kwan
- 43. SP Power Assets Ong Sheau Chin
- 44. SP Services Budiman Roesli
- 45. SP Services Lawrence Lee
- 46. Tuas Power Generation Priscilla Chua
- 47. Tuas Power Supply Jazz Feng
- 48. Tuas Power Supply Zhang Ai Jia
- 49. YTL PowerSeraya Jonathan Chew
- 50. YTL PowerSeraya Mark New

The contact particulars of the DMS contacts are published on the EMC website. This information will enable market participants to know who to contact in the event of a dispute.

DISPUTES

During the period 1 January to 31 December 2014, I did not receive any notice of dispute from market participants.

CONCLUSION

I would like to thank all market participants, DMS contacts and the Market Assessment Unit for supporting the work of the DRC. I look forward to working towards further improving the dispute resolution process of NEMS.

George Lim, *Senior Counsel* Dispute Resolution Counsellor

31 March 2015

Crongelin